Tuesday, January 31, 2012

It's been a few days

I haven't posted in a few days! I guess it's because I was in a bad mood and not counting calories or working out over the weekend so I felt I shouldn't post anything. I'm not going to let that stuff get me down any more though and ruin a whole week by having a few bad meals over the weekend.

Yesterday I didn't make it to the gym for my 5:30am workout and had so much to do at home after work so I used my house cleaning as my workout. I got in some cardio vacuuming and mopping, did some calf raises while doing the dishes, and I few arm exercises with household items. Not a gym workout but I felt good knowing I at least burned more calories then normal. I was able to get to the gym this morning though and even got jarrett out of bed to go with me! Last week I started a workout routine that I knew I could stick to and didn't involve exercises I didn't know how to do. It also has 3 levels for when I feel ready to advance. You can find the workout at http://weightlossandtraining.com/freeworkoutroutines-women. It seems kind of silly because they compare it to celebrities but it's actually a really good workout. I'm still on the first step and I think I will stay there for another 3 weeks. It's a good site for weight loss tips and training.

I am a day behind on making goals for this week and I think since I didnt do as well on my goals as I would have liked to and know I can I want to just try them again this week. So I will not post any more weekly goals until next Sunday. Also I forgot to weigh in last week because my scale wasn't working on Wednesday. Im going to change my weigh in days to Fridays so on Friday I will have a new weight (hopefully at least 3lbs down!).

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Weight loss vases

I found this awesome idea on pinterest (one of my guilty pleasures) and knew that this would be an awesome motivator! There are to vases (i guess i didnt need such big ones) and in the to lose vase you put a marble for each pound to lose and as you lose weight you move the marbles to the lost vase.Im a visual person so seeing this everyday and moving marbles over to the lost vase will be very rewarding! :)

Anyways I'm going to try to get up at 5am again for the gym! Im going to try to get Jarrett to come with me too so i dont have to see him sleeping soundly while im dragging my butt out of bed. Wish me luck. I got pretty tired in the afternoon but it was nice not having that do to after work. Goodnight!

Early morning workout!

I am not a morning person at all! That being said I got up at 5am and went to the gym! :) it felt good to follow through with something I wanted to. I'm going to try to start getting up and going before work during the week that way I have more time in the evenings to get things done.

This morning after getting dressed I felt skinny so I thought I would take a picture! It's not any where near where I want to be but I love that I'm already feeling better mentally and physically! :)

Tuesday, January 24, 2012

First post!

I'm very excited to start blogging about my weight loss! I have never blogged before but I feel with this experience I wanted to have a place to keep all of my thoughts, experiences, struggles, and all that in one spot... and I felt like I was abusing Facebook with all of my posts about the gym and weight loss! So here goes nothing!

I started my journey on January 2, 2012... I know it may sound like its just a new years resolution but this is much more! I have had struggles with my weight for a very long time but when I moved to Chico in 2009 to attend Chico state I really gained most of my weight. I've started diets and exercising so many times before but for some reason a few weeks ago something just clicked in my head that made me determined to do it this time! My fiancé, jarrett, is usually the one who gets me started and then eventually we stop, but this time is different! I think it was when I was shopping for an outfit for new years eve and of course couldn't find anything I felt comfortable in. Looking at the pictures the next few days i saw how cute all my friends looked and I was just in jeans as usual. Also, with my wedding being about six months away I knew I didn't want to look like this in my wedding pictures! My fiancé and I joined a gym that week and I have been going 5 days a week for the past 3 weeks! I can say that I really do enjoy it. I love the way I feel after I work out and it keeps me from eating all of the crap I was used to eating because I don't want to ruin a good workout with bad eating habits. I have had more then I few hard days already with wanting to "cheat" but I've been fairly good. The weekends have been the hardest for eating healthy. Friday and Saturday nights we want to go out with friends and maybe have some drinks which usually leads to late night snacking.

It is going to be a challenge everyday but I am very committed to my goals and I'm not going to let one bad meal or bad choice ruin all I have worked for so far! I used to say if I messed up during the day well the day is ruined so I'll started again tomorrow or next week but no more! I will just have a good rest of the day and maybe workout a little more that day.

Anyways there is a little bit about me and what I'm trying to do! I'm hoping in the next few days to figure out the blog a little better and post my goals, long term and weekly, and weight loss!